Victims of the Second World War

Victims of the German occupation of Denmark in 1940-1945 and their surviving dependants may qualify for compensation if they are covered by the Danish Act on Compensation for Victims of the Occupation Period.

Victims of the occupation period are first and foremost Danish citizens who, during the German occupation, sustained an injury or developed a disease reducing their earning capacity.

It is Labour Market Insurance that decides if a person is entitled to compensation or National Awards.

Compensation is granted to persons who:

  • were deported to prisons or concentration camps abroad
  • were on active service for at least 6 months on Danish or foreign vessels under Allied control in waters affected by the war, or
  • were actively engaged, for at least one year, in such organised resistance activities in this country as involved particularly hard physical or mental stress, or
  • sailed on Faroese fishing or similar vessels in waters affected by the war for at least 6 months, with a view to providing war supplies to Allied ports outside the Faroe Islands.

Compensation is granted in the form of several different types of benefits:

  • Invalidity compensation
  • National Award
  • Reimbursement of medical costs etc.
  • Funeral grant
  • Survivor’s compensation (for surviving dependants)

Read more